AHL 1 vs Kilmacud Crokes
Thursday, 11th September 2014

Result: 0 12 to 2 16

On the basis that goals win games, Crokes grabbed this Round Robin tie with two of them early in the second half, Ryan O'Dwyer and Barry O'Rorke the takers.The opening 30 was, by and large, a dull affair, only occasionally lit up by real skill.Conal Keaney was always well marked, generally by two defenders, but still managed a fine aerial catch and lay-off to Gavin Corrigan, who pointed from the 40. At the Clontarf end, Oisin O'Rorke took three fine scores from all angles. Corrigan had a good goal chance from a tight angle, only to be thwarted by Collins for a  65, Paul Ryan slotted it over. Ryan also scored three frees and David Curtin was effective from the middle with two points at either end of the half. Sean McGrath for Crokes was  busy from frees and one from play.

Half time score BBSE 0 06 KC 0 06

The second half was a Crokes show, with the goals centre stage. O'Dwyer's the best, after patient work on the wing, the cross was perfect and the rest was textbook. McGrath was hugely influential and scored one peach of a point, with a quick strike. Ross O'Carroll made a fine catch and score from the 50. Conor Robinson got forward for a grand strike, but it was obvious that goals were required. Simon Lambert, sprung from the bench, got an opportunity, but the Crokes defence was up to the challenge. At the other end, O'Dwyer popped up in the corner, batted past Gary Maguire, only to see the ball pass the post, far side.

James Roche came in to the action and got some good opportunities, Keaney pointed superbly from the wing and Collie O'Neill scored one from a tight spot. Ryan did well from frees and added one from play, but the margin was beyond Boden, without goals.

The result has Boden in the quarters, but needing the services of all available players to ensure progression. Crokes are flying and full of confidence going into the business end of the season.

Ballyboden;  Gary Maguire, James Madden, Stephen Hiney, Stephen O.Connor, Conor Robinson, Dean Curran, Shane Durkin, David Curtin, Eoghan O'Neill, David O'Connor, Finn McGarry, Gavin Corrigan, Paul Ryan, Conal Keaney, Collie O'Neill, Tim Sweeney, James Roche, Stephen Nagle, Simon Lambert, Niall McMorrow.

MVP. Ryan O'Dwyer.

Report by Conor Sheehan