Senior vs Whitehall Colmcille
Saturday, 13th May 2017

Result: 1-15 to 0-00

Senior football B Championship, 13 May 2017 v Whitehall Colmcilles at Cloghran 

Ballyboden St Endas 1 – 15; Whitehall Colmcille’s 0 – 0

As the result indicates, this was a very one sided match which does not say much about the current structure of the Dublin senior football championship. Playing against the wind in the first half it soon became apparent that this was not going to be a difficult assignment to ensure our survival in the senior championship for next year and make progress in this year’s B championship. All the early action was in the Whitehall half and Cathal Flaherty, pressing forward from half back, popped over a point from distance after one minute. After 5 minutes Shane Durkin seemed to be harshly treated when sent off on a black card. He was replaced by Collie Dunne. Conal Keaney pointed a free and was followed by a point from play by Robbie McDaid. A pointed free by Collie Basquel and two by Collie Dunne with a point from play by Darren O’Reilly brought he half time score to 0 – 7 to 0 – 0. A feature if the first half was that most of our backs spent a lot of time in the forward area, especially Cian Murray, Tom Hanafin and Cathal Flaherty. The half also saw Bob Dwan and Declan O’Mahony replaced by Brian Bobbett and Sam Molony.

Playing with the wind in the second half, Alan Flood soon rattled the Whitehall cross bar before Conal Keaney popped over a point from play and two more from frees. On 15 minutes Collie Basquel finished to the net following a good move involving Conal Keaney and Collie Dunne which definitely finished off the contest. Further points by Sam Molony, Declan O’Mahony (who came on for Robbie Mc Daid), Collie Basquel and Tom Hanafin finished off a very one sided contest. All attempts by Whitehall to score were rebuffed by Darragh Gogan in goal, who made a couple of good saves, Graham Heavey and the backs generally who gave no quarter to the Whitehall forwards when they came within scoring distance.

TEAM: Darragh Gogan; Cian Murray; Graham Heavey; Bob Dwan; Stephen O’Connor; Tom Hanafin; Cathal Flaherty; Shane Durkin; Robbie McDaid; Donagh McCabe; Conal Keaney; Darren O’Reilly; Collie Basquel; Declan O’Mahony; Alan Flood. SUBS: Josh Kane; Brian Bobbett; Collie Dunne; Sam Molony.